top of page

Fearing Multicultural and Neurodiverse Students

United: formed or produced by the uniting of things or persons

Soar: to rise or aspire to a higher or more exalted level

San Jose Elementary, Pinellas Cty Schools and the Florida Department of Education -- are not uniting its students. They are not aspiring to a higher or exalted level.

Why?

Thanks to the openness of other parents and students, I am aware there is a multicultural club at San Jose Elem.

One more time, my daughter does not receive an invitation to be a part of a meaningful gathering organized by school.

After 3 yrs in the system you know my daughter epitomizes multiculturalism. She was born in Greece - Greek father and a well traveled (having lived in 6 countries and traveled to another 27) Puerto Rican mother.

Yet one more time, she continues to be denied the opportunity to give and take,

in her own neurodiverse terms,

the impressive collection of life defining

characteristics she already possess.

I've already been thru identical instances with the same school -

* last yr - a school performance in Downtown Dunedin -- my daughter was "forgotten" and did not sing with the 2nd graders -

* school yr 2014-2015 - I was not informed tutoring was available - even when I had asked for it at the beginning of the school year and after overwhelming emails and insistence, last March my daughter was finally allowed to receive much needed tutoring

I shall repeat my words from the email sent on May 9 to:

<BROWNLISA@pcsb.org>, Sherry Aemisegger <AEMISEGGERS@pcsb.org>,

"Monica.Verra-Tirado" <Monica.Verra-Tirado@fldoe.org>,

+Superintendent's Office <super@pcsb.org>,

Commissioner <Commissioner@fldoe.org>,

Peluso Kenneth <pelusok@pcsb.org>,

+Board Office <board@pcsb.org>,

"Yet, the opportunity was missed to show your pride as a teacher and confirm that United We Soar! as the school proudly exclaims every time.

There is no soaring... There is no united and all of you know it.

School and district administrators and the FLDOE are fully responsible for this mess; because there is no directive guaranteeing these absurdities will not take place in 2016.

But, they keep happening!

School District, FLDOE realistic and practical standard practices are needed to confirm inclusion is pursued. Stop the paper work. ACT Now!

What is being done it is not enough. It does not work. I can no longer handle complacency or the attitude of... let's wait and see if the parent will complain. Then we'll quote our Mission. We'll take a couple of pictures. We'll include a note in the Newsletter. We'll choose the student as student of the month and the parent will be happy.

That is childish.

The ball has been in your court.

I look forward to action, commitment, respect, tolerance, inclusion and more.

I have been waiting 3 years now."

YV Calderon

Parent/Advocate

NOTE: I hope my daughter was not excluded from Gen Ed 2nd grade field trips this school year!

She was already excluded from Promise Time for 6+mths - a program she needed -- particularly, when the school gave us a Retention Letter!

I must add that by choosing not to invite = exclude = her from the Multicultural Club, the school is not in compliance as her individual needs are not being addressed. Added to the fact, that I, the parent who the system claims belongs to a team, is not given the opportunity to decide whether I want her to participate or not.

I know I am not the only parent/family going thru this.

I am honored to be one of the few who holds the school, the district and FLDOE accountable.

This is another missed opportunity. Just another confirmation the entities responsible for creating whole citizens are not united or soaring.

This is another admission there is fear of multicultural and neurodiverse students. I am here to remind you, it has to stop.

Being part of an academic community in all its forms confirms Student Success and none of you are guiding my daughter down that path.

Reading:

Resources for Raising Global Citizens

SEEING THE BEST IN EVERY CHILD: THE IMPORTANCE OF NEURODIVERSITY


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page